History of the building

The Bazaar Halls, built in the Romanesque style, form a semi- circle around the Oslo Cathedral giving a picturesque and charming atmosphere for the workshops and boutiques. It was built between 1840 and 1859 by the architects Chr. Grosh and A. de Chateauneuf who later renovated the cathedral. Oslo Cathedral was consecrated in 1697.  The Stortorvets Basarer are now protected by the National Trust.


The Bazaar Halls were built in order to get the market trade around the cathedral better organized. Fruit, vegetables, flowers and meat could be all purchased there. The old butchers’ hooks are still to be seen in the arcades. The building at the end of the arcade between the cathedral and Karl Johans gate housed Oslo’s first fire station.


Since the 1960’s artists and designers have moved into the localities in the old Bazaar Halls behind the Oslo Cathedral. Stortorvets Basarer have become a centre for design, arts and crafts. During the past years several cafes and restaurants have opened here – they contribute to an attractive atmosphere catering to a wide clientele.